Links to: Programme, Abstracts, Posters, Conference Booklet

23rd June 2020, Virtual Meeting - #futureformulation

The Formulation Science and Technology group (FSTG) of the Royal Society of Chemistry organised the 4th Future Forumulation meeting to bring together the researchers working as part of the EPSRC's Future Formulation funding award.  The meeting was hosted online.

The 1st Future Formulation meeting was held in Durham in 2017, just after the Future Formulation of Complex Products grants had started, so the 2nd Future Formulation meeting was an oppotunity to hear about the exciting progress being made towards the future of formulation, the 3rd Future Formulation meeting gave the researchers the opportunity to update us on their individual projects and through interactive session provided further details and gave us the opportunity to contribute to the development of the projects.  The 4th Future Formulation meeting saw the grants coming to an end, we heard about all that has been accomplished during the grants, some of the future plans and the discussions explored further applicability.

The UK has in recent years recognised the massive contribution which formulation makes to its economic activity, resources have been made available both through the setting up of the National Formulation Centre in County Durham and specific funding calls from EPSRC and Innovate UK.  This meeting brought together some of the people who are shaping future formulation having been awarded grants under the EPSRC's "Future Formulation of Complex Products" call - you can get a full few of the grant through reading the summaries of the previous meetings and relive the 4th Future Formulation meeting through the recordings and presentation - Future Formulation IV the conference.


  • Dr Jin Sun, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Csaba Sinka - University of Leicester
  • Prof Andrew Bayly - University of Leeds
  • Dr Robin Curtis - The University of Manchester & Professor Paul Dalby, University College London
  • Professor Panagiota Angeli, Dr Tom Lacassange, & Giovanni Meridiano- University College London
  • Professor Ricky Wildman - University of Nottingham
  • Professor Darragh Murnane - The University of Hertfordshire

Organising committee

Dr Jin Sun, University of Edinburgh
Professor Colin Bain, Durham University
Dr Simon Gibbon, AkzoNobel RD&I
Dr Helen Ryder, The University of Manchester
Dr Philip P Gill, Cranfield University

 formlogo       rsclogo      

  • Dr Csaba Sinka - University of Leicester